The Danish Girl

I would like Eddie Redmayne to play me in the story of my life.  If he is not available then my story should not be made into a film – all things happen for a reason (or my life story was not world-changing, necessary to be told, and/or Eddie had by then aged out of my wildly beautiful youth).

I have always loved a gifted performance and those who create them, but Redmayne’s talent makes my heart swell.  His ability is uncanny and I believe, he is worthy of last year’s and this year’s Oscar.

Alicia Vikander was such a delight in Man from UNCLE earlier this fall but her performance here is on another level – and it is not the same one as Redmayne’s.  The uneveness between their performances was a bit distracting.

The film’s visuals and music are sweeping, the story line is unpacked slowly and never forced, and the subject matter is forever captivating, but the last 30 minutes seem to be part of a different film.  I understand the need to see Lili Elbe as a pioneer but for most of the film she seems to prefer to be seen as just a woman.  The additional button seems insincere and is factually (and timeline-wise) incorrect.  However; Redmayne’s performance makes this a truly worth while film.

Nachos + Chips, but no scraping to get the extra cheese at the bottom…I can do without that last bit.


Leave a comment